Governing Body Structure

The Governing body at Minworth is made up of the following people in addition to the head teacher:




Brent Aston – Chair of Governors and chair of finance committee

Elected - 17/05/2015     Re-Election 16/05/2019





Matt Sadler - Head teacher







Susan Smith - Vice chair of Governors and chair of the pay, performance and appraisal committee

Elected - 4/10/2016     Re-Election 3/10/2020






Paul Clayton – Co-opted Governor, vice-chair of finance committee and standards link Governor

Elected - 03/05/2015      Re-Election 02/05/2019



 Coming soon



Heather Woolley  – Parent Governor and SENDCo link Governor

Elected - 4/10/2016     Re-Election 3/10/2020






Louise Dawber - Co-opted Governor and safeguarding Governor

Elected - 4/10/2016     Re-Election 3/10/2020



 Coming soon



Mrs Kelly Armstrong – Teacher Governor and pupil premium link Governor

Elected - 27/04/2015      Re-Election 26/04/2019






Miss Becky Dewsbery – School Business Manager, Staff Governor and training link Governor

Elected - 07/07/2015      Re-Election 06/07/2019






Lyndsey Hudson  – Local Authority Governor and curriculum link Governor

Elected - 





Guy Hollier – Parent and associate Governor

Elected - 



 Coming soon



Delene Rutter  – Parent and associate Governor

Elected -  







Clerk to the Governing body - Mrs Joanne Mealings. 





The core functions of the Governing body are as follows:


  1. To provide a strategic overview by the setting aims and objectives for our school and by adopting policies and setting targets for achieving those aims and objectives.
  2. To monitor and evaluate our school's progress towards achieving its aims and to act as a 'critical friend' to the headteacher and Senior Leadership Team (SLT) by supporting and challenging them in managing the school.
  3. To ensure accountability to the pupils, the parents, the local community, the local authority and the staff with the aim of raising standards and improving the outcomes for the pupils at the school.

The Governing body is divided into the following committees:

  • Finance committee - Brent Aston, Paul Clayton, Becky Dewsbery and Matt Sadler
  • Pay, performance and grievance committee - Susan Smith, Brent Aston, Lyndsey Hudson, Matt Sadler and Becky Dewsbery.
  • Appeals committee - As and when needed. Delene Rutter and two other Governors subject to availability.
  • Attainment and standards committee - Paul Clayton, Lyndsey Hudson, Brent Aston and Matt Sadler.


Governors meet a minimum of six times throughout the course of the academic year.


Governors at Minworth are expected to adhere to a strict code of conduct that can be found via the following link:

Governor code of conduct




Pecuniary Interest

No members of the current Minworth Junior and Infant School Governing Body hold a pecuniary interest.


Governor attendance at meetings: